CGNA Nursing Scholarships

The Canadian Gerontological Nursing Association is proud to offer the following scholarships.  These scholarships are offered yearly by CGNA for studies commencing in September of the current year.  

We had 13 applicants for the Ann C. Beckingham scholarship in 2016.  This fund is designed to support CGNA members to complete graduate level nursing education programs in the area of gerontological nursing.

Congratulations to the 5 successful candidates of this award listed below.  
  • Jacqueline Crandall from Ontario – in the PhD program at University of Alberta
  • Melissa Crozier, from Alberta – Master of Nursing program at the University of Alberta
  • Sonya Marcott, from Nova Scotia – Masters of Nursing program at Dalhousie
  • Deanne O'Rourke, from Manitoba – PhD program at University of Manitoba 
  • Kristina Weatherbie, from PEI – Masters of Nursing program at Dalhousie 
CGNA also has a Memorial Scholarship to support CGNA members in an undergraduate nursing degree program.  There were no qualified applicants for this award in 2016.  If you know of CGNA members who are already Nurses (RN, LPN/RNA or RPN) who are completing undergraduate nursing education, please encourage them to apply for a Memorial Scholarship.  

Applicants to both the Ann C. Beckingham and Memorial scholarships must be members of CGNA for a minimum of two years to be eligible to apply.  The 2017 application period for both scholarships opens in January of 2017 and will close March 31, 2017.   

Microsoft Explorer Users:
When accessing the application form links below, click the option to "Save" the documents rather than to "Open" them directly otherwise you may encounter errors.  Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience.   

Ann C. Beckingham Scholarship 
Application Period: January 1 - March 31, 2017

The Ann C. Beckingham Scholarship is provided to support outstanding Registered Nurses undertaking further education in a graduate degree program relevant to career development, preferably in the field of gerontological nursing – this includes Nurse Practitioner programs that focus on the care of older adults.

Download the application form.  

Memorial Scholarship
Application Period: January 1 - March 31, 2017
Memorial Scholarship is awarded to an outstanding Registered Nurse, Licensed or Registered Practical Nurse, or Registered Psychiatric Nurse who is undertaking further education in a post-basic undergraduate nursing degree program with a gerontological nursing focus.

Download the application form.  

Website Builder